Mandalay is the second largest city in Myanmar and was established in 1857. It lies on the east bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River and in the upper part of Myanmar. Mandalay has the Royal Palace of the last Konbaung Dynasty. Mandalay inherits many cultural heritage from the ancient Myanmar Kingdoms and beautiful places to visit.

Mandalay consist of five main townships namely Aung Myay Thar Zan, Chan Aye Thar Zan, Mahar Aung Myay, Chan Mya Tharzi and Pyigyi Tagun Townships. Mandalay Hill is a popular destination to visit while you are in Mandalay. The beautiful scene of the whole city can be seen from the hill. Royal Palace, Sanda Muni and Shwenandaw Monastery are a few more.

AROUND Mandalay


Amarapura lies on the left bank of the Ayarwaddy River. A suburb of Mandalay. it is also known as Taung-myo (Southern Town) or Myohaung (Old City). Founded by King Bodawpaya in 1783 as his new capital. Amarapura means City of Immortality. Amarapura was the capital city of Myanmar. during the Konbaung Dynasty. It was founded by King Bodawpaya in 1782 AD. as the king transferred the capital from Innwa (or Ava). King Bagyidaw. grandson of Bodawpaya shifted the capital back to Innwa in 1823. but King Tharrawaddy his successor again took the capital back to Amarapura in 1837 and it remained as the capital until King Mindon built Mandalay in 1857 and shifted the capital there in 1860.


Inwa was formerly known as Ava and it is located 21km from Mandalay. Inwa was also known as Yadana Pura. It was first founded as a capital by King Thado Minbya in 1364 A.D. It is the confluence of the Ayeyarwaddy & Myint Nge rivers. But the king had a canal dug to join the Myint Nge and Myint Tha rivers thus cutting off the capital as an island. safe from enemy attacks. As successive kings ruled the war with King Raza Darit of Bago for many years. the Shan chief Thohan Bwa took the advantage and overran the capital.

Pyin Oo Lwin

Pyin Oo Lwin is located on the western bank of the river Ayeyarwaddy. approximately 7 miles north of Mandalay. Over 1000 metres above sea-level. Pyin Oo Lwin is a popular hill station about 69km away from Mandalay.


Sagaing lies 21km south-west of Mandalay on the west bank of the Ayeyarwaddy River. It lies in Sagaing division. which is the largest division in Myanmar. Sagaing became the capital of an independent Shan kingdom around 1315 after the fall of Bagan. Its period of importance was short. for in 1364 the founder’s grandson. Thado Minbya. moved his capital across the river to Inwa. From 1760 to 1764. Sagaing was once again the capital. Today. Sagaing is known as a meditation centre. Myanmars all over the country would visit Sagaing for the purpose of religious retreat.


Mingun is located on the western bank of the river Ayeyarwaddy. approximately 7 miles north of Mandalay. It is reached by ferryboats across the river and takes 1 hour for up-river and 40 minutes for down-river. It is famous for many Buddhist shrines. monasteries. meditation centres and monuments of historical and cultural importance. A boat trip to Mingun is pleasant with plenty of life on the river to see. It is about 11 miles from Sagaing and you can reach there by road. It takes about 30 minutes. And you can also travel to Mingun from Mandalay but you can get there by road. It is about 7 miles up river from Mandalay and you can accessible only by boat. Via Gawwein jetty.


Monywa is a city in central Myanmar and situated on the eastern bank of the Chindwin Rive. Mandalay Division. It lies 136 km north-west of Mandalay along the Mandalay-Budalin branch railway line. Monywa serves as a major trade center for India and Burma through Kalay Myo road and Chindwin river.